Lulu answers your health and fitness questions!

To all you lovely readers, thanks so much for your overwhelming response to my blog! A lot of you guys have contacted me to share your fitness and weight loss experiences, and I’m well chuffed at the thought that this blog is useful to people, rather than merely being an outlet for my compulsive foodstagramming. The problem with committing to eating well and getting fit is that it’s often something we keep to ourselves for fear of judgement from others – is it really fitness we’re striving for or is it something a bit more vain? Everyone wants to be the kind of person who is effortlessly strong and skinny and beautiful, who drinks green tea because they prefer it to coffee, who is on a constant post-exercise endorphin rush, who loves to run so much that they don’t notice the kilos falling away. The truth is, it can be a struggle, and I think the best way to go about it is to be honest and accountable for what you’re trying to do. Hence this blog. Getting yourself to a healthy weight is a noble goal. Own it. Don’t be afraid to talk about it with others. Living in a lonely world of weight loss obsession will only lead to poor, unsustainable choices (like ‘cleanses’… don’t even get me started). Being honest with yourself and others means that you’re more likely to stick to your guns.

So, it’s been suggested that I do a bit of an ‘agony aunt’ post, since I have apparently become somewhat of a health and fitness guru around here! Disclaimer: I’m not a dietitian nor a personal trainer, I just know what works for me (and have done a bit of research in that arena). If you have any questions you’d like answered, post them as a comment to this post or send them to luluintherunningshoes@gmail.com. I won’t publish your name if you don’t want me to. And I’ll endeavour to answer any questions you throw at me!

BONUS! For those of you who live in Victoria, the VIC government is offering everyone 20 free passes to any YMCA plus 15% off at Rebel Sport. It’s a new fitness initiative and it’s free! Sign up here (I just did… looking forward to some sweet free gym sessions at the Y!): http://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/bhcv2/bhcsite.nsf/pafcpages/pafc_register_2013?open

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Lulu answers your health and fitness questions!

  1. Hannah. says:

    Ok ok so!

    Dear Lu,

    I hate breakfast. I hate it more than boogers. I hate it more than getting up early in winter. I hate it more pumpkin, and that’s a lot. So, I eat things I like for breakfast, like three shots of coffee over ice with milk.

    The thing is, that isn’t good for me, apparently, and I get really tired and hungry an hour later. What am I supposed to eat for breakfast, considering that pouring milk over cereal is too much effort? Why does breakfast suck so much?

    Love, Hannah.

Leave a Reply

