Veguary! My pledge to go veg (for a month)

So. I love vegetables. Quite a lot. Although I’m not vegetarian by any means, I like to think that the majority of what I cook is veggie-focused – although it may incorporate meat here and there (a bit of chicken in a stir-fry with six or seven different vegetables, enchiladas that are mostly salad and grilled capsicum with a few prawns), it’s fresh produce that usually runs the show.

We’ll just ignore the bulk batch of pulled pork I made last week. Ahem. (It was delicious, though.)

This is something that I’ve been considering for a little while now. I like cooking with loads of veg, and I often substitute non-meat proteins like legumes, cashews or haloumi in my dishes anyway, so what if I were to challenge myself to go vegetarian for a month? Say, the month of February… or as I have dubbed it with a shoddy almost-pun: Veguary? I’m excited about this for a few reasons:

  1. It will take me out of my comfort zone, cooking-wise. I’ll have to experiment with vegetarian proteins (although I love tofu, I’ve never cooked it myself before) and mix up my usual standard oeuvre of recipes.
  2. It will save me money. Meat can be pretty expensive, whereas lentils are outrageously cheap. Of course, I’m planning on working in a few interesting cheeses and fun new proteins (seitan?), which might up the price factor a bit, but since I usually buy free-range, high-quality meat (i.e. the expensive stuff), it should still work out cheaper. I’ll try to eat out a few times, too, and vegetarian dishes are almost always less than the meat-based ones in restaurants!
  3. It’ll be good for the environment and for animal rights. I’m not going to get preachy – we all know this stuff already. But even if you don’t go vego, even cutting your meat intake down a little bit is a good thing.
  4. Veg-based diets can be healthier. Sometimes. Vegetarians have to be super-careful to get enough protein in, but with enough forward planning, they can have a damn nutritious diet. Lots of veggies, fruits, nuts, seeds, beans, yoghurt, grains and cheeses. Less calorific slabs of meat. Awesome.

So, now begins the process of recipe collation. I follow a few vegetarian and whole food blogs (Oh My Veggies and Sprouted Kitchen are a couple of great ones) and I have a few ideas up my sleeve, but to get through a whole month without resorting to my staple recipes is going to be tricky. Throughout the month I’ll be posting what I’m cooking, so if anyone wants to challenge themselves to a month of vego-ness, do it in Veguary! And if you have any favourite vegetarian recipes, let me know in the comments… I think I’ll need all the help I can get!

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Veguary! My pledge to go veg (for a month)

  1. Andy says:

    Try quinoa as a replacement for your normal carbohydrates/proteins! Im using quinoa instead of pasta! Its much healthier than cous-cous (carb wise) and its delicious!

  2. I love quinoa! Great idea to use it instead of pasta – it has much more protein than most grains, too, so it’ll be handy for vego month. I might do quinoa burgers! Apparently you can do breakfast quinoa too, but it’ll take a lot for me to change my daily muesli habit 🙂

Leave a Reply

