And so it begins.

In 2012 I lost 14kg and became fitter, healthier and happier than I ever have been. If you’re reading this, you’ve noticed and asked me how I did it. The reason I’m writing this blog is twofold: firstly, because I want to keep a record of the changes I’ve made to keep me on track – holy shitballs, it looks like the journalling habits drilled into me at uni have finally taken effect, and I’ve figured out that documenting things kind of works! And secondly, because the answer to “How did you do it?” is so hard to answer in a few sentences. There’s no magic plan or formula, as we all know. It’s such a personal thing. So here is my personal thing, and you can take from it whatever you like.

A bit of backstory: this year started out pretty rough for me. I went through a horrible, unexpected breakup. Breakups are shit as a rule (or so I’m told), and this was my first real one, coming out of a long-term relationship that I had expected to be somewhat longer-term. We even had to keep living together for months afterward for various financial and logistical reasons. It sucked. But it forced me to re-focus my life, and I took all of the energy that I’d been putting into that relationship and put it into myself. I have a tendency to be a bit obsessive, and I moved from being obsessive about my relationship (not a great thing to do, by the way; it makes the eventual breakup that much harder!) to being obsessive about my health and fitness. I think you have to be, really. It’s so easy to make goals and then let them fall to the wayside because you’re more invested in other things, like your social life. But if you’re thinking about your health all the time, it’s really not that hard to pass up on a trip to Cold Rock or leave a party early (and sober) because you want to get up the next morning to go for a run.

So, onwards to the tools of the trade! To participate in the patented ‘Lulu in the Running Shoes’ weight loss plan, you will need:

  • An internet connection (if you are a Gen Y-er, you either already have this or are currently in a pit of Facebook-deprived despair)
  • A set of kitchen scales (for weighing your food)
  • A set of bathroom scales (for weighing you!)
  • A smartphone (or an iPod/portable music player of choice plus a stopwatch)
  • Shoes of some description. Unless you’re a fan of running barefoot, in which case, uh, go you!

A gym membership is desirable but not necessary by any means. Losing weight shouldn’t be an expensive endeavour. I actually ended up saving a lot of money, but more on that later!

I’ll be updating this fellow again soon with actual step-by-step instructions, but for now, I’ll leave you to acquire the things on the list. And if you ever have any questions about stuff on the blog, feel free to comment on these posts. You’ll get an answer to your query, I get to feel all self-important and knowledgeable – everyone wins!

One thought on “And so it begins.

  1. Cathy says:

    You go girl!

Leave a Reply

